The Advisory: Volume 8, Issue 1, January 2010

Click here to view the PDF version of The Advisory

President-Elect, Executive Elected for 2010

The Benchers of the Law Society of Alberta elected Douglas R. Mah, QC, as the President-Elect for 2010 at their meeting in Edmonton, December 3-4, 2009.

As well, the Benchers elected a slate of members for the 2010 Executive Committee. The Committee will include: Ron Everard, QC; Carsten Jensen, QC; Steve Raby, QC; and Dale Spackman, QC. The non-lawyer public representative on the Executive will continue to be Larry Ohlhauser, MD. The new Executive takes office in February 2010 when current President, Peter Michalshyn, QC steps down and current President-Elect Rod Jerke, QC assumes the role of President.

Doug Mah, QC earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Calgary (1978) and his law degree from the University of Western Ontario (1981). He was called to the Alberta Bar in 1982, and practiced as a litigation associate for six years in the Edmonton office of a major law firm. He then commenced a legal career with the Worker’s Compensation Board – Alberta and is currently its Secretary and General Counsel.

Doug was elected Bencher in 2003, 2005 and 2008. He has served on the following Law Society of Alberta committees: Governance; Finance; Audit; Executive; Appeal; Equality, Equity, and Diversity. He has also served as Committee Chair for: Conduct, Credentials and Education, Practice Review, Insurance, Pro Bono, Communications and Joint Library.

[Back to Index]