The Advisory: Volume 8, Issue 2, April 2010

Click here to view the PDF version of The Advisory

W. Bernie Kelly QC Memorial Prize Winners

Two University of Calgary law students, Robert Moyse and Beamer Comfort, have been selected to receive the 2009 W. Bernie Kelly QC Memorial Prize. The annual award is made in memory of W. Bernie Kelly, QC, who served the Law Society of Alberta as Deputy Secretary, Secretary Treasurer and Secretary.

Third-year Alberta law students of good academic standing who participate with distinction in ethics, professional responsibility or skills programming within a Faculty of Law are eligible to receive a $500 prize.

Robert Moyse will add a law degree this spring to a B.Sc. (Honours) degree earned in 2003 from the University of Alberta. A two-time winner of both the Faculty of Law Dean’s Prize and Merv Leitch QC Scholarship, he plans to enter a clerkship at the Federal Court of Appeal in August, assigned to the Honourable C. Michael Ryer.

He has served as both a summer law student and research fellow with the Calgary firm Borden Ladner Gervais LLP.

The second recipient of the 2009 W. Bernie Kelly QC Memorial Prize, Beamer Comfort, will earn a law degree this spring, following a B.A. from the same university in 2006.

He has attained numerous other academic awards during his law studies, including the Donald P. McLaws Prize and Vincent M. Bjorndahl scholarship in 2009, the Alberta Law Foundation and Faculty of Law bursaries in 2008, and the Jason Lang Scholarship and the Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP Prize that same year. He has been named to the Dean’s List five times, and was named an Academic All-Canadian in four consecutive years (2003-2006).

He is interested in litigation work, and will begin articling with Bennett Jones LLP in August 2010.

[Back to Index]